KETJU Research

← The Register

Other

Valos

Rejected The evidence weighs against it
Issued
2026-08-17
Last confirmed
2026-08-17
Next check due
2026-11-17
Research basis
Individual research
Chains
Monad · Governed, no freeze

This review rejects Valos because access is restricted and its legal structure is not disclosed. Valos is an actively managed institutional private-credit manager, not a passive treasury-bill product. Allocators deposit Agora’s AUSD stablecoin into an ”Institutional Credit Vault,” built on Accountable’s Vault-as-a-Service infrastructure, that Valos deploys into off-chain-sourced loans to market makers, prime brokers, exchanges, and custodians. Valos states its services are ”available only to professional clients,” and explicitly excludes retail. Apart from that access bar, this review could not confirm Valos’s exact legal entity name, licensing status, or governing jurisdiction beyond a reference to its Helsinki headquarters. It also could not find any third-party smart-contract audit of the vault or Accountable’s underlying infrastructure. A third-party vault tracker rates the product’s protocol technical risk ”Severe” while showing a suspiciously smooth return series, with zero drawdown against a 7.4% lifetime APY. That is a concern for a private-credit book whose NAV marks are self-reported and lack an independent audit beyond a continuous-attestation system run by Valos’s own vendor.

The research file

Mechanism

Valos launched its Monad ”Institutional Credit Vault” on 2026-02-17 using Accountable’s Vault-as-a-Service infrastructure. Allocators deposit AUSD. Valos deploys the pooled capital into institutional credit loans to market makers, prime brokers, exchanges, and custodians. The vault claims $1B-plus in historical deployment across 50-plus active loans. Depositors receive vUSD share tokens that represent a claim on loan receivables owed to Valos by these institutions. Depositors are unsecured creditors of Valos’s lending book and rank behind other creditors. They do not lend directly to the underlying institutional borrowers.

Undisclosed legal structure

Coverage of a related capital raise describes Valos as headquartered in Helsinki, but no source reviewed disclosed the exact operating entity name, its licensing status, or which jurisdiction’s lending and securities laws govern the vault. The launch press release offers only a boilerplate disclaimer that ”the regulatory status of digital asset products is evolving and may vary by jurisdiction.” It does not give a real legal disclosure. Valos can set vault parameters, interest models, and collateral terms through Accountable’s framework. Valos therefore keeps control over manager decisions instead of running a permissionless protocol, and it does not disclose its multisig or admin-key structure.

Eligibility

Valos’s own site states that its services are available only to professional clients and targets institutions and ”serious operators.” That is an explicit retail exclusion. Neither Valos’s own site nor its launch materials disclosed a concrete KYC procedure, minimum ticket size, or specific accreditation standard beyond a general reference to ”eligibility requirements and jurisdictional restrictions.” This access bar alone disqualifies the product under this registry’s mandate. That judgment is consistent with the treatment of every other institutional-only private-credit product in this batch.

Redemption and risk rating

A third-party vault tracker marks deposits ”Private,” meaning access is restricted. Redemptions use ERC-7540 async-redemption tooling, and no fixed lockup or notice period has been publicly disclosed. Fees are 3.0% performance, 0% management, and 0% deposit or withdrawal, netted into the share price. The same tracker independently rates the vault’s ”Protocol Technical Risk” as Severe while showing a lifetime APY of 7.4% and zero recorded maximum drawdown. That return series is unusually smooth for private credit. This review treats it as a diligence concern, not reassurance, because NAV marks rely on Accountable’s continuous attestation rather than an independent periodic audit.

Track record and comparison

The vault reached roughly $113M of a stated $200M target capacity by end of April 2026, with current TVL roughly $110M. Search found no default, exploit, or legal incident. Unlike passive treasury-bill tokenization products such as WisdomTree or Ondo, Valos takes actively managed credit risk to crypto-native institutional counterparties. Despite a similar TVL scale, that category carries materially higher risk and offers less transparency than T-bill-backed RWA tokens. K3 Capital separately uses the same Accountable Vault-as-a-Service infrastructure on Monad for a Galaxy credit facility. That use suggests the infrastructure is becoming a shared dependency for several credit managers, creating a platform-concentration risk worth tracking beyond Valos itself.

Sources

The claims above trace to these. Where a number could not be independently verified, the thesis says so.

Inherited controls

The research above describes the protocol layer. Every position also inherits the asset it holds and the chain it settles on. The layer with the most administrative power sets the position’s effective control; that describes control, not quality or suitability.

ChainVerdictControlControl constraint
MonadApproved with limits Governed, no freeze the L1 has a public validator path, but its short production record, single initial client lineage, and Foundation-directed delegation keep stake and operations concentrated.
The memo is public. Monitoring connects the research to positions clients actually hold and flags evidence changes for advisor review. $49 per advisor per month, first 14 days free. Start the trial.