KETJU Research

← The Register

Other

R25

Rejected The evidence weighs against it
Issued
2026-08-17
Last confirmed
2026-08-17
Next check due
2026-11-17
Research basis
Individual research
Chains
Pharos

We reject R25 because public sources provide too little information to assess it. R25 is vault infrastructure, not a fund. It separates custody, issuance, valuation, fees, and redemption into modules that third-party “curators” use for their strategies, built on ERC-4626/7540/7575 standards. Nearly all of its roughly $131M tracked TVL sits in one product, Axil Prime Credit, a fixed 3-month USDC vault targeting emerging-market consumer credit. It launched on 2026-07-15, barely a month before this review, on Pharos, a chain that reached mainnet only in late 2024. Public sources leave every key question this registry asks unanswered. We found no named legal entity or jurisdiction for R25 itself or for Axil, the credit manager running the strategy. No eligibility, KYC, or US-person policy is published. We could not find or verify a claimed SlowMist audit or an “APEX” proof-of-reserves for the main vault. The holder of the vault’s upgrade/admin authority is not disclosed. This case is “too sparse to assess,” not “researched and found acceptable,” and this registry’s class rules only ever reject on that basis.

The research file

Mechanism

R25 provides modular vault infrastructure. Custody, issuance, valuation, fees, and redemption run as independent components that can be upgraded separately. Third-party curators use those components to build yield strategies. The main live product is Axil Prime Credit (APC), a fixed 3-month USDC vault targeting roughly 14.3% gross annualized yield from a mix of emerging-market consumer credit loans. Centralized-exchange wallet “Earn” products distribute it, including Binance Wallet, OKX Wallet, KuCoin Wallet, and TopNod. The fundraising cap is 100M USDC. R25’s own marketing lists other planned vault categories, including treasuries, commodities, structured products, staking, and basis trades. But no public data shows meaningful TVL in anything besides APC today.

The missing legal entity

R25’s own site and every press source reviewed give no jurisdiction for R25 itself beyond a generic “© 2026 R25 Labs” copyright line. Axil is the credit manager that originates and runs the consumer-credit strategy behind APC. Sources describe its staff only as alumni of BlackRock, HSBC, and HashKey. Its legal entity name and jurisdiction are also not disclosed. Pharos, the settlement chain, is a roughly 20-month-old L1 founded by former Ant Group executives that raised $52M in total funding. The product has three parties: the chain, infrastructure provider, and credit manager. With no named legal entity for any of the three parties, the structure itself is too opaque to assess, apart from any specific credit risk in the underlying loans.

Eligibility and control

No source provided eligibility criteria, a KYC policy, or language restricting US persons. Distribution through exchange wallet “Earn” products suggests retail access depends only on whatever KYC each exchange performs, not a standard set by R25 or Axil. A separate press release says custody runs through Utila (MPC wallet infrastructure) and Yield.xyz (a self-custodial yield API), marketed as “non-custodial, self-executing.” No source documented a freeze, blacklist, or pause function. But the separate custody, valuation, and fee modules imply that some upgrade authority exists. No source reviewed disclosed who holds it.

Redemption and unverified claims

Axil Prime Credit is a fixed 3-month term vault. Its materials say settlement occurs “over days rather than blocks,” so it does not provide instant liquidity. That creates a materially different risk profile from an always-liquid tokenized treasury fund. R25’s own materials state that the headline 14.3% yield is a gross return before fees and losses. A temporary $300,000 launch incentive campaign also raises that figure, so it does not reflect a guaranteed baseline. Sources refer to a claimed SlowMist audit and an “APEX” proof-of-reserves mechanism for the vault, but this review could not locate or independently verify either one.

Comparison and decision

A trade-press roundup of ERC-7540 credit vaults cited R25 alongside Centrifuge (roughly $1.6B TVL) and Lagoon (roughly $129M TVL). R25 differs through fixed-term settlement without an instant redemption path. Capital is locked for the loan term instead of remaining liquid at all times. That difference alone would affect position size, but would not justify rejection. We reject it because the questions about entity, eligibility, and audits that this registry requires before it can recommend any allocation remain unanswered. These gaps concern a vault with one product that launched about a month before this review.

Sources

The claims above trace to these. Where a number could not be independently verified, the thesis says so.

Inherited controls

The research above describes the protocol layer. Every position also inherits the asset it holds and the chain it settles on. The layer with the most administrative power sets the position’s effective control; that describes control, not quality or suitability.

ChainVerdictControlControl constraint
The memo is public. Monitoring connects the research to positions clients actually hold and flags evidence changes for advisor review. $49 per advisor per month, first 14 days free. Start the trial.