KETJU Research

← The Register

Tokenized real-world assets

OnRe Tokenized Reinsurance (ONyc)

Rejected The evidence weighs against it
Issued
2026-09-23
Last confirmed
2026-09-26
Next check due
2027-09-27
Research basis
Individual research
Chains
Solana · Governed, no freeze
Symbols
ONyc

ONyc is a Solana token that OnRe sells as a share of a reinsurance book. On Re SAC Ltd., a Bermuda segregated accounts company licensed by the Bermuda Monetary Authority as an insurer and a digital asset business, keeps a separate account for ONyc. Money paid in posts collateral for short reinsurance contracts, about half specialty lines such as cyber and aviation and half catastrophe cover that pays on industry loss indices, and earns premiums. OnRe’s own API put the account at $300.9 million on 2026-09-23, with 262 million tokens at a NAV of $1.1486. Three facts set the file apart from a fund share. First, the price is not marked to the book: OnRe’s docs say the NAV used to mint and redeem comes from a base price, an annual rate, and time, all stored in the contract. Losses reach the holder only when OnRe lowers that rate. Second, the token itself carries no claim: the terms of the Open Access interface, where anyone outside the excluded places may buy with no onboarding, say ONyc bought there confers no rights against On Re SAC Ltd. Rights come from a Participation Agreement, which is not public. Third, the exit is narrow: only holders who pass OnRe’s KYC and meet accredited-investor tests may redeem, OnRe targets monthly capacity of 2.5% of NAV, and every other holder sells into a pool or OnRe’s own quote. The United States and the United Kingdom are on OnRe’s excluded list, so no client of a US adviser may hold it. The assessment is adverse on the claim and the exit, not on the reinsurance: nothing here says the book is badly underwritten.

The research file

How the money earns

OnRe underwrites through its Bermuda insurer licence and posts ONyc money as collateral for the contracts it takes. Its portfolio page targets a 50/50 split between specialty programs (D&O, cyber, tech E&O, aviation, crop, marine, energy) and property catastrophe industry loss warranties, which pay on an industry-wide loss index rather than one insurer’s claims and usually run six to twelve months. Premiums are paid up front and earned over the term; the docs give the example of a 17% six-month premium that annualizes to 34%. Money not yet posted sits in reserve assets: Treasury bills, USDC, USDG, USYC, sUSDS, and also Ethena’s sUSDe, Maple’s syrupUSDC, Bitwise’s crypto carry fund, and Hastra’s PRIME. The reserve therefore carries crypto credit and basis risk beside the insurance risk. OnRe targets a 10% to 12% base yield; the live figure on 2026-09-23 was 11.02%.

What sets the price

OnRe says the NAV “used for minting and redemption is computed from parameters stored inside the smart contract: base price, annual rate, and a time component.” No outside feed or signed report sets it. The price therefore rises on a schedule OnRe chose, and its FAQ explains what happens after a loss: if claims exceed reserves, “the adjustment happens in yield, not principal. APY recalibrates over the contract duration.” That is a promise about how OnRe will set the rate, not a mark. A holder learns of a loss when the rate changes, and a holder who redeems before then is paid at the old schedule by the ones who stay. Apex Group attests monthly to the NAV and the treasury, which checks the books after the fact; it does not make the on-chain price a market price.

What the holder owns

OnRe describes ONyc as “a proportional share of a regulated segregated account,” and its KYC policy says capital is contributed under a Participation Agreement, with legal title in the segregated account. Bermuda’s Segregated Accounts Companies Act keeps that account apart from OnRe’s general account and its other accounts. But the token is not the agreement. Open Access, the no-onboarding route, is run by Latitude Technologies Corporation, and its terms say tokens bought there “do not confer any ownership, redemption, governance, or other legal or contractual rights against On Re SAC Ltd. or its affiliates.” A buyer on a DEX stands in the same place. Whether a Participation Agreement follows the token, or the token holder must sign one to have any claim, is not stated in anything public. The file records the claim model as not stated.

Who may hold, and how money gets out

Holding is open: the mint has no transfer hook and no allowlist, and OnRe says ONyc is “fully transferable” once minted. OnRe excludes about 60 places, the United States and the United Kingdom among them. Redemption is closed: only holders who pass OnRe’s KYC and meet accredited-investor requirements may redeem, and payouts go only to wallets verified at onboarding. A request moves the tokens into a redemption vault and waits; a worker fills it, in parts if need be, at the price on the day of each fill and only while the vault holds USDC or USDG. OnRe targets a 15% liquidity layer and monthly capacity of up to 2.5% of NAV, and says both are targets, not guarantees. A global kill switch stops every request. Everyone else sells to a pool or to OnRe’s RFQ quote, which cuts the price as the trade grows and as recent selling rises. In a run, the on-chain price stays on schedule while the price a seller can get does not.

Who controls the token

The ONyc mint is a classic SPL token. Its mint authority is a program address of the OnRe program, so only that program mints. Its freeze authority is 45YnzauhsBM8CpUz96Djf8UG5vqq2Dua62wuW9H3jaJ5, the address OnRe’s docs call the Squads multisig vault that holds program-controlled collateral: whoever signs for it can freeze any holder’s account. There is no permanent delegate, so no one can move a holder’s tokens. The OnRe program itself can be upgraded by FvmhydbpHGQzMUp51GmhB1fwsrkyfmnRsTg7oPwDe25f, which OnRe calls the “Boss authority”; since that program is the only minter and holds the NAV parameters, an upgrade can change both. Quantstamp, Ackee, and OtterSec have audited the program.

Comparison and decision

The 2026-08-14 memo filed ONyc under the off-chain credit class rule. The documents now read give three facts that matter more: a contract-set price, a token that carries no claim on its own, and an exit open only to onboarded accredited holders at 2.5% of NAV a month. Against the tokenized funds in this registry, where the token is the share and the fund redeems it at a struck NAV, ONyc asks the holder to trust OnRe’s rate-setting and its willingness to sign an agreement later. The reinsurance may be sound; nothing found says otherwise. The assessment is adverse, the file is excluded by policy because US persons may not hold it, and it is ineligible for model clients.

Sources

The claims above trace to these. Where a number could not be independently verified, the thesis says so.

Inherited controls

The research above describes the protocol layer. Every position also inherits the asset it holds and the chain it settles on. The layer with the most administrative power sets the position’s effective control; that describes control, not quality or suitability.

ChainVerdictControlControl constraint
SolanaApproved with limits Governed, no freeze no admin key can seize funds, but stake concentration and a sub-25 Nakamoto coefficient are the standing watch items.
The memo is public. Monitoring connects the research to positions clients actually hold and flags evidence changes for advisor review. $49 per advisor per month, first 14 days free. Start the trial.